Here I am again……

Standard

Just before my last post – 2 days before in fact – I had been to see my breast care team for my annual follow up. Everything was fine, no problems and was told I would be seen again next year. Phew! What a relief.

Anybody that has been in this sort of situation knows how it feels to be told by your surgeon that there is no sign of anything abnormal. Little did I know then that feeling was going to be short lived.

let me fill you in…..

About a month after seeing the consultant I felt a lump. A small lump in the same side as I had had my mastectomy.  “It can’t be anything serious ” I thought. There is nothing there to get breast cancer in. Keep an eye on it I thought.

two weeks later I thought it was getting bigger……off to the GP I go.

“Hmm,” he said “let’s be on the safe side and get the consultant to check it out”

“Hmm,” I thought ” that don’t sound too promising”

so off to the clinic I go.

One examination, one scan and one biopsy later it was confirmed…….I had cancer back.

so then the fear is, has it spread anywhere else?

a rather busy few days followed. A CT scan of head chest abdo and pelvis, , blood tests, bone scan all came back clear – except for an enlarged lymph node in my chest.

yay! Another surgery to remove the lump followed by radio this time should sort it out.

So, here I am, going in for surgery tomorrow morning.

The speed at which this has all happened is amazing (and not to mention a little scary). But there it is, that is how it goes. The positive in all this is that we caught it before it could cause any more problems.

Hopefully it will not come back again – fingers crossed x

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

