missing my craft room……..

Standard

We have lived here at the seaside for just over a year now and I absolutely love it. Despite the fact that we have had a bit of a rough time (him indoors had major surgery last summer and took 3 months to recover, our cat got kidney disease and “went to a better place” – he was well old, we think about 17 years – and the I got ‘the cancer’) but even with everything that has happened I wouldn’t change a thing. Well that’s not quite true.
The house we had before was larger, not a mansion by any means, but it was a four bed house with just me & him (and a son that stayed a while!) in it, and I was lucky enough to be able to claim the smallest bedroom as my craft room.
A whole room dedicated to my crafty untidyness….Bliss!
Him indoors shelved the entire end wall for me to my specifications to fit my needs, and I had full length curtains in front so I could hide the organised chaos! I had my work table and two chairs (so that any visiting grand daughters could join in), my computer and a stereo. A beautifully light room with a big window and lovingly known as ‘The Doing room’ what more could I want?
I spent many lovely long hours in there – just me and my craftiness, especially when I was preparing for a craft fair……..heaven!

Then when we moved we down sized to a two bed bungalow – which I really do love. Every day here I feel like I am on holiday. The bugalow has a kind of holiday lodge feel to it. It’s small (but perfectly formed) but it fits us and our visitors ok. The only thing missing is my craft room, and I do miss that.
I have the benefit of a room in the garden which I have called ‘The Makery’. Its ok in the summer months but not much fun in the winter time. My granddaughters love it out there and we can lose the youngest one for hours on end. But, for me, it’s not the same as my Doing Room.
My craft bits are spread around the entire bungalow, bits here, bits there because no where is big enough to take it all in one place.
Sigh……..I do miss my craft room.

2 responses »

  1. I know what you mean! We did the same a few years ago, downsized to a three bedroom from a large four bedroom plus three sitting rooms – since then I haven’t had a space for me and I miss it.
    The kitchen table isn’t the same and needs to be tidied by the evening.
    Your ‘little’ lady and my guy Raffles would go well together, he is 11 months now and we assume he has finished growing!

  2. I know what you mean about the tidy up thing…so annoying.
    We think that the princess poodle has finished growing – she is 11 months – but she seems to have short legs! Her mum didn’t…..she was very tall !

Leave a Reply

