I had a bath…..

Standard

Having established at my hospital appointment that it was ok to get everything wet, I decided I would have a bath tonight.

Big mistake!!!!

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed my bath, scrubbed my face and even did a face mask – got to make an effort haven’t you?
I buffed and polished and very delicately dabbed around ‘that area’ until I was satisfied that I’d had enough

That was where the trouble started…

I wasn’t sure how I was gonna get out! You see our bath is very narrow…….and I’m not.
I couldn’t lift myself on both elbows, and I didn’t have enough room in the bath to get my legs under me. no matter which way I tried, or which way I faced I just couldn’t lever myself out. So I drained the water. Seemed like a bright idea at the time but it didn’t achieve very much. I still could not lift myself out. Oh dear, so I called for hubby. Now I should probably explain here that I am of a fairly prudish kind of nature. I have always believed that there should be a degree of privacy and mystery in a marriage and in the 31 years of ours we have managed to maintain this standard……until now.

Anyhoo, I called for my knight in shining armour and he came…..so did the dog. Our bathroom is definitely not big enough for all of us so she had to go.
I had to admit at this point I was stuck. And it was then that the worried look on hubbys face turned to laughter.
That in turn made me laugh, in fact I couldn’t stop laughing. We had no idea what we were going to do about this. He got behind me and tried to push, then he tried to pull but nothing was helping. That made the laughing worse. At one point he even suggested getting the fire brigade out!!!
Now that wasn’t funny…..but we laughed some more anyway!

Then I had a bright idea, a light bulb moment. Perhaps we could get a bath towel under my ample bottom and use it like a hoist – he could pull while I lifted. Seemed like a plan, and it would have been ok if only I’d had enough room in the bath to lift one cheek at a time to get the towel under. However I could only manage to get it under one cheek, so it then had to go up between my knees. Now I was looking like a sumo wrestler with that nappy thing they wear. By this time the laughing had turned to fits of giggles and we weren’t safe to do anything, but there was no choice we had to continue.
We took a breath and calmed ourselves, he pulled, I pushed and eureka……..I was out!
I think I will stick with showers for a while!!

2 responses »

  1. I absolutely love reading your blog. It is so you! Heartfelt ; so honest and humorous. Sorry but I have laughed today envisaging the bath incident. Daily, I cant wait to read about your progress – you are dealing with it all so bravely. Your crafty creations from the makery are fantastic and you will have to teach me to crochet one day. In meantime have you a pattern for your little ted? Pretty please ?

    • Awww, thank you Debbie. You are sweet. I have to admit the bath thing has still got us laughing – I don’t think I have ever felt so ridiculous in my life, dignity has left the building! X

Leave a Reply

